Steinberg, Maxon and Goldstein Receive High SCC Honors

(from L): David C., Steinberg, Bart Maxon and Mindy Goldstein, Ph.D.
(from L): David C., Steinberg, Bart Maxon and Mindy Goldstein, Ph.D.

The Society of Cosmetic Chemists (SCC) proudly announced the winners of three prestigious awards, to be presented at the annual meeting held Dec. 12-14, 2022, at the JW Marriott LA Live in Los Angeles.

The awards include the Maison G. Denavarre Medal Award,  SCC Merit Award and the Florence Wall Women in Cosmetic Chemistry Award. The winners are three well-deserving industry veterans who are (or have been) long-time advisers, friends and supporters of Cosmetics & Toiletries (C&T). 

See archived: SCC Unveils Award Honoring Women in the Cosmetic Sciences

Maison G. Denavarre Medal Award

“This year, the society is presenting its highest honor to David C. Steinberg in recognition of his industry expertise and contributions to advancing cosmetic science,” said Erica O’Grady, chief executive officer of the Society. “We are pleased to recognize all that he has accomplished during his exceptional career.”

This award recognizes Steinberg’s activity in supporting the best interests of the cosmetic industry through his various technical contributions, which include: founding of the MS in Cosmetic Science program at Farleigh Dickinson University (1982); authoring five industry textbooks and chapters within 11 other books; achieving numerous regulatory accomplishments in North America and the EU; serving as a course instructor and educator in many capacities; and serving as advisory board member for many industry publications (including C&T).

He was also recognized as a Technical Fellow of the Society of Cosmetic Chemists in 1987 and has received many other industry accolades and awards. Steinberg retired in December 2021 from Steinberg & Associates but remains active on its Board of Directors.

See archived: Roger McMullen, Ph.D., Honored at SCC 75th Annual Conference

SCC Merit Award

“Bart Maxon has been an outstanding advocate for the benefits of SCC membership,” said O’Grady. “We are thrilled to honor him with the 2022 SCC Merit Award. A tireless champion of the SCC and its mission to advance cosmetic science, we thank Bart for his dedication and service to SCC over the years.”

During Maxon's 23+ years of membership, he had the inspiration to co-found and serve as the first Chairperson of the SCC’s Michigan Chapter. He has also volunteered as a continuing education program (CEP) instructor, speaker, National Board Area Director and Fellow Certification Committee member.

Maxon is a senior technical service and development scientist for Dow – Home & Personal Care Group. He has more than 39 years of experience in the personal care, health care and medical diagnostics industries, and has been with Dow/Dow Corning for 26+ years in a variety of roles within beauty and health care. He holds 20 patents and has a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology from Central Michigan University and a second Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry from Northeastern Illinois University.

Maxon also serves on the board of the Disability Network of Mid-Michigan (DNMM) and is the North American Leader for Dow’s Disability Employee Network (DEN) Employee Resource Group. Bart was also recognized as a Technical Fellow of the Society of Cosmetic Chemists in 2014

Florence Wall Women in Cosmetic Chemistry Award

“We are elated to present the society’s award honoring a woman’s scientific and leadership contributions to the cosmetics and personal care industry to Dr. Mindy Goldstein,” said O’Grady. “Mindy is a well-respected subject matter expert, inspirational leader and a distinguished contributor to the field of cosmetic science.”

Mindy earned a Bachelor of Science degree with honors in biochemistry, Master of Science in Pathology and Doctorate in basic medical Sciences from New York University. She holds three patents and has authored texts and articles for various publications during her more than 31 years of active membership in the SCC. She also served two terms as SCC national president; president of the Long Island Chapter; a member of the Committee on Scientific Affairs and various other SCC committees; associate editor of the Journal of Cosmetic Science; recipient of the SCC Merit Award (2010); and was also recognized as a Technical Fellow of the Society of Cosmetic Chemists in 2002. Goldstein currently serves on the Personal Care Product Council's (PCPC's) nomenclature committee, where she chairs the subcommittee on biotechnology, botanicals and ferments.

The Florence Wall Women in Cosmetic Chemistry Award is sponsored by Rodan+Fields, a skin care brand built on a legacy of dermatology-inspired skin care products backed by clinical results – founded by two of the industry’s most recognizable women, Drs. Katie Rodan and Kathy Fields.

“SCC is proud to highlight the extraordinary work, cutting-edge research, and advancements that our members have achieved in the cosmetic sciences,” said Michelle Hines, Ph.D., 2022 SCC national board president and director of product formulation at Mary Kay, Inc. “These winners join a long and prestigious list of accomplished professionals who have been recognized by their peers for their outstanding contributions to SCC and our industry.”

See these individuals accept their awards at the SCC 76th Annual Scientific Meeting and Showcase. Register now.

More in People