Regulations in ASEAN Countries

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) has agreed to harmonize its cosmetic regulatory scheme. This decision went into effect in January 2008. The 10 nations that are part of the ASEAN group include Brunei , Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The harmonization into a single Cosmetic Directive has the benefits of enhanced cooperation between the countries, eliminating trade restrictions, and ensuring safety, quality and claimed benefits for all products. This scheme was agreed upon in 2003 and planned to take effect in 2008. The agreement consists of seven articles, two schedules and seven lists.

Article 1 states the objectives of ensuring safety, quality and claims, and was established to eliminate trade restrictions of cosmetics through harmonization of technical requirements and mutual recognition of registration and approvals. Article 2 states that the members will adopt these regulations by Jan. 1, 2008, and Article 3 lists the technical documents required for cosmetics.

More in Regional