Regulations in ASEAN Countries

Mar 28, 2008 | Contact Author | By: David C. Steinberg, Steinberg & Associates
Contact the Author
This item has been saved to your library.
View My Library
(click to close)
Save to My Library
Title: Regulations in ASEAN Countries
  • Article

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) has agreed to harmonize its cosmetic regulatory scheme. This decision went into effect in January 2008. The 10 nations that are part of the ASEAN group include Brunei , Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The harmonization into a single Cosmetic Directive has the benefits of enhanced cooperation between the countries, eliminating trade restrictions, and ensuring safety, quality and claimed benefits for all products. This scheme was agreed upon in 2003 and planned to take effect in 2008. The agreement consists of seven articles, two schedules and seven lists.

Article 1 states the objectives of ensuring safety, quality and claims, and was established to eliminate trade restrictions of cosmetics through harmonization of technical requirements and mutual recognition of registration and approvals. Article 2 states that the members will adopt these regulations by Jan. 1, 2008, and Article 3 lists the technical documents required for cosmetics.

Excerpt Only This is a shortened version or summary of the article that appeared in the April 2008 issue of Cosmetics & Toiletries magazine. The full content is not currently available online.