Current Issue cover

2019 Fragrance Foundation Awards Winners and Highlights

Contact Author Eden Stuart
Fill out my online form.
  • The Fragrance Foundation President Linda Levy and Jane Krakowski (Photo Credit: Getty Images for The Fragrance Foundation)
  • Harry and Laura Slatkin (Photo Credit: Griffin Lipson/BFA.com)
  • Tom Ford and Henry Golding (Photo Credit: Griffin Lipson/BFA.com)
  • Michelle Pfeiffer and David E. Kelley (Photo Credit: Griffin Lipson/BFA.com)
  • Linda Levy and Dominique Ropion (Photo Credit: Griffin Lipson/BFA.com)

The Fragrance Foundation hosted its annual star-studded awards ceremony at New York City’s Lincoln Center, on June 5, 2019.

Hosted by actress Jane Krakowski, presenters included movie star and natural fragrance entrepreneur Michelle Pfeifer, pop singer Bebe Rexha and Hearst global fashion director/French fashion icon Carine Roitfeld.

Tom Ford was inducted into the Hall of Fame, accepting his award after a glowing introduction from Crazy Rich Asians breakout star Henry Golding and thanking the teams behind his eponymous brand and Estée Lauder. “I feel so incredibly fortunate to work with some of the best perfumers in the industry,” said Ford. “And this award is also an acknowledgment of their great talent.”

NEST Fragrance founder Laura Slatkin was named Game Changer of the year. Recognized for her innovations in both niche fragrance and philanthropy (working closely with organizations dedicated to autism), Slatkin thanked the partners—be they suppliers and retailers in the perfume business, or leaders and visionaries in philanthropy—who have helped her achieve her successes. “Working together and collaborating, we are so much more powerful, and we can accomplish so much more.”

IFF master perfumer Dominique Ropion received the Lifetime Achievement Award, thanking his fellow noses at IFF and speaking on the joy he derives from mentoring up-and-coming perfumers. Though his career has spanned nearly 40 years, Ropion continues to keep his eyes (and nose) focused straight ahead: “I am looking forward to the future—there is so much left to discover, or rediscover.”

Winners of the 2019 Fragrance Foundation Awards:

  • Fragrance Of The Year, Women’s Luxury—Tom Ford Lost Cherry
  • Fragrance Of The Year, Women’s Prestige—Jo Malone London Honeysuckle & Davana Cologne
  • Fragrance Of The Year, Women’s Popular—Ariana Grande Cloud
  • Fragrance Of The Year, Men’s Luxury—Chanel Bleu De Chanel Parfum
  • Fragrance Of The Year, Men’s Prestige—Dior Sauvage Eau De Parfum
  • Packaging Of The Year, Women’s—Chanel No°5 Limited Edition Eau De Parfum
  • Packaging Of The Year, Men’s—John Varvatos JVxNJ
  • Home Collection Of The Year—Diptyque 34 Collection
  • Perfume Extraordinaire—Symrise
  • Fragrance Hall Of Fame—Donna Karan Cashmere Mist
  • Media Campaign Of The Year, Women’s—YSL Black Opium Eau De Parfum
  • Media Campaign Of The Year, Men’s—Chanel Blue De Chanel Parfum
  • Social Media Campaign Of The Year—Marc Jacobs Daisy Love
  • Consumer Choice, Women’s Prestige –Marc Jacobs Daisy Love
  • Consumer Choice, Women’s Popular—Victoria’s Secret Tease Rebel
  • Consumer Choice, Men’s—Paco Rabanne 1 Million Lucky
  • Consumer Choice, Influencer-- @Jeremyfragrance

Previously announced:

  • Face Of The Year—Martha Hunt
  • Instagrammer Of The Year—Mona Kattan
  • Editorial Excellence, Print—The Oprah Magazine, “What The Nose Knows April 2018,” written By Alix Strauss
  • Editorial Excellence, Online—Allure, “The Beauty Of Living Forever Through Fragrance,” written By Tynan Sinks
  • Breakout Star Award—Dior Sauvage Eau De Toilette
  • Indie Fragrance Of The Year—Byredo Eleventh Hour
  • Home Holiday / Seasonal Fragrance Product Of The Year—Diptyque Legend Of The North
  • Bath & Body Line Of The Year—Byredo Black Saffron Body Range
  • Fragrance Of The Year, Men’s Popular—Hollister Togetherness


Next image >